The Oppenheim Toy Portfolio Awards
Educator, parent & kid testing goes into each product considered for an Oppenheim Toy Portfolio Award. We don't accept ads or charge "review fees" from manufacturers or publishers, so you know you're always getting independent opinions.
 
Latest Reviews
 
New Articles and Posts
How to help your kids develop it
Tags:
Posted: 2013-06-13 17:13:32 By: by Joanne Oppenheim

Stick-ability is a skill that does not come naturally or easily. Yet, developing the ability to wait for an event or to deal with the frustration of working at a difficult task and bring it to completion- these are important life and learning skills that children need. Whether they are learning to read, writing a term paper, or baking cookies, patience is often the key to success. Unfortunately you can't teach patience by talking about it. Lectures don't help. Click here for ideas that do help!

As Seen on NBC's TODAY Show
Tags:
Posted: 2013-06-13 17:12:32 By: by Stephanie and Joanne Oppenheim

Planning a family reunion can be daunting. It sounds fun in theory - but making sure the day is a success requires some advanced planning. Knowing how your family plays well together is also key. Are you like the Kennedy family that enjoys a competitive game of football on the lawn or is a calmer game of bocce more your speed?  Here are some suggestions that will engage a multi-generational crowd with something for everyone. You can watch Stephanie's  segment  from NBC's TODAY SHOW below and Click here to read the complete article.

Watch our fun segment from TODAY!

Visit NBCNews.com for breaking news, world news, and news about the economy

Fun for Spring Break Time
Tags:
Posted: 2013-03-06 09:01:31

The first new kits have begun to arrive with fresh and inviting crafts. Many have enough art supplies to share for a play date. We look for kits with clear directions, ample supplies, and materials that introduce kids to skills they can carry forward when the kit is done. While kits are often prescriptive and less than open-ended; they do introduce children to materials and techniques that can be applied in more creative ways. Crafts are more than just entertaining, they develop children's dexterity, patience, decision making and problem solving abilities. Here are a few of the new ones that are noteworthy.

What's New in Toyland?
Tags: Today Show, Toy Fair
Posted: 2013-02-18 11:00:26

Stephanie shared some of the hot new trends from the International Toy Fair with NBC's Willie Geist and guest host Steve Harvey on the TODAY Show.  Check out what got their attention! For more details on the products discussed visit Stephanie's blog.

Visit NBCNews.com for breaking news, world news, and news about the economy

For Toddlers to School Age Kids
Tags:
Posted: 2012-12-26 12:00:38 By: by Joanne Oppenheim

Craft kits and art supplies are perfect gifts that keep on giving. Unlike some toys that come out of the box ready made, these are gifts that involve kids in creative fun. They develop dexterity, patience, problem solving, creative choices and the pleasure of using one's imagination. These are just a handful of some of our favorite crafty choices. Check for other art materials and craft kits on our age appropriate lists to the left and for a short but nice list, Click here to see some winners.

Tags: Today Show
Posted: 2012-12-26 11:59:26 By:

We hope everyone had a happy holiday!  Our award winners cover all age groups and every budget - and are good all year round!  To see our complete list of award winners, click here.  Stephanie shared some of the toyportfolio.com's Platinum Award winners with TODAY Show's Willie Geist.

 

Visit NBCNews.com for breaking news, world news, and news about the economy

Tags:
Posted: 2012-12-26 11:58:57

If you feel like you need a few more small gifts, consider some of these less pricey, but entertaining choices. Check this and scroll down to look at other lists on our front page for small but winning gifts from $10-$20. Click here

More than just Scrabble & Upwords
Tags: word play
Posted: 2012-12-18 15:53:16

Word games have always been a passion in our family. Spirited quick rounds of Boggle, a long slow game of Scrabble, and the stack and rack up points of Upwords. We still love these classics, but we are always on the lookout for new ways of playing around with words. These are family games that you can play one on one or as teams, so younger players are not at a disadvantage. Click here to discover some of the new choices.

What to look for and our top picks
Tags: Toys for Kids with ADHD, Tips for Shopping for Kids with ADHD
Posted: 2012-12-11 15:27:41 By: by Stephanie Oppenheim and Joanne Oppenheim
Comments: Post the first

If you have a child with ADHD on your gift list, finding the right toy can feel more challenging. Here are our basic guidelines to keep in mind when you're shopping.  Our recommendation is to share these tips with family members!  We also have listed some of our favorites. Click here to read more.

Another Five Good Choices
Tags: under $10
Posted: 2012-12-05 09:16:59

Here are another five fun toys that will be perfect for Christmas stocking stuffers, grab bag classroom gifts or the many nights of the Festival of Lights. Be sure to check our other great buy gift lists. Also, check our book lists for titles that will will be new favorites. Click here.

Products for Infants
Products for Toddlers
Products for Preschoolers
Products for Early School Years
Products for Later School Years
Twitter   Facebook     YouTube 

Oppenheim Toy Portfolio - All Rights Reserved. Oppenheim Toy Portfolio, Oppenheim Toy Portfolio Platinum Award, and Oppenheim Toy Portfolio Blue Chip Award are Registered Trademarks of the Oppenheim Toy Portfolio.


Instructions for submitting product to the Oppenheim Toy Portfolio for review.

 

 

Contact the Toyportfolio by phone at (212) 598-0502 or by email at Webmaster@Toyportfolio.com.

Copyright 1995-2014

 

Products reviewed by the Oppenheim Toy Portfolio are provided by the manufacturer at their cost. The Oppenheim Toy Portfolio does not require or accept fees for reviewing products.